PDA

View Full Version : What makes a Skate video great?

bunnybcitu
08-10-2012, 01:22 AM
I'm pretty new to the skate community so I'd really like to know what page the majority of you are on.. Is it the tricks you do, or how you film it more important?

I think after 3+ years of playing this game you'd think everyone has gotten down the gameplay and the tricks become less and less difficult to execute. Meaning, it's not the trick you do that's important, it's how you film it.. Am I on the right track? Again, I'm not trying to start anything or attack anyone, i'm just here because I want to get better, make better videos and understand this community better.

PS. I come from the THPS community where gameplay is everything and when we make videos it's what you're doing that's important, not how it's recorded.

Jebotek
08-10-2012, 01:25 AM
http://skatefluckit.com/showthread.php?t=8792

may that helps

bunnybcitu
08-10-2012, 01:36 AM
That doesn't help, that tells me this is a video editing forum.

pawnluvguitarist
08-10-2012, 02:05 AM
Its all over the place here. At one end you'll see some people doing generic tricks with the emphasis on a solid edit and filming. With others having the focus on trick difficulty, creativity and having their own style. We've got the arcade skaters too, skating unrealistic with crazy hippy flip stuff, very THPS ish.

knexzor
08-10-2012, 03:13 AM
Personally I prefer the trick aspect, be it a hard combo, double grind, popless, hard gap, ungrindable or simply a standard trick with creative or perfected use of animations. If it contains any of the above I don't care if the filming is sloppy. Essentially, using the tools provided to create something unique.

As long as you know what you want to do, and strive to do it in a satisfactory manner, you should be good to go. It always show when somebody doesn't have a clue why they did the tricks they did.

I can't stand watching bland or random footage.

rzrfvr
08-10-2012, 03:35 AM