PDA

View Full Version : After Effects help

Ephyr
08-07-2015, 02:49 PM
Sup guys. Anyone on here experienced in After Effects?
I've been experimenting with various 80's retro neon/outrun kinda vfx for use in some fake skate and fingerboard parts and there is this particular effect in this counter strike edit which would be perfect. Problem is, I have no clue how to do it.

I'm not a newbie or anything with after effects but I just can't for the life me figure this out.

The effect is at 00:16, the cyan+pink trail on the weapon as it's swaying.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u5mC4k_rGcU

He links the aep files in the description but I don't have the plugins they use.

Oh and the clip I'm editing has a completely static background.

Any help is appreciated, even if it's just a search term that would lead me in the right direction.

Tabloid
08-07-2015, 04:15 PM
to me that looks like two possibilities

1. some very skilled masking and keyframing

2. he just green screened the gun from a demo within the game using console (easily done if you have counter strike) , used fill and displaced it slightly

emericaridr11
08-07-2015, 04:39 PM
Ill take a gander

Ephyr
08-07-2015, 05:21 PM
If he were to green screen the gun, fill it pink/blue and then displace it, would he then of had to mask it around the original wep so it appears behind it? - assuming the pink and blue layers are above the original.
Or would he of cut the original gun out so it's just the gun surrounded by transparency and had that layer above the 2 displaced ones, above another original unedited layer to serve as the background?
Sorry if that's confusing, having a hard time wording it ^^

Also, are the coloured layers displaced in position or duration? I was messing around frame my
frame masking out the board(which took forever) and I couldn't figure which looked more similar(the overall effect still came out terrible either way).

Is there any possible solution using layer blending?