Thread: Buying a complete (need help/advice please)

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    XBL
    SmurfsInABox

Default Buying a complete (need help/advice please)

I haven't owned a skateboard since I was about 8 years old. I've been snowboarding for the past 7 years and always struggle through the summer because of the lack of board sports that I do once the snowboard season ends. I've always wanted to have something close to snowboarding to do during the summer so why not start skating again? My biggest problem, at the moment, is just trying to figure out what I need set up wise. I feel like I'm being bombarded by all sorts of different measurement sizes and countless skate tech terms. I'll post a link to all of the parts that I'm planning on ordering and hopefully you guys can point out any flaws in my potential choices and give me some alternatives that would be more suitable. I'm 5' 8" and have size 10.5 shoes, if that helps.

Thanks for any advice that you can give me

Skateboard parts list
    http://www.tactics.com/baker/lenoce-...kateboard-deck
    http://www.tactics.com/thunder/polis...olished-147-lo
    http://www.tactics.com/bones/mumford...els/oh-gee-83b
    http://www.tactics.com/independent/g...hardware/black
    http://www.tactics.com/diamond-suppl...board-bearings
    NOIR / Legacy / MethMonsters

8 incher board works well at the beginning...you'll see if it's too big or small or just perfect. Wheels and how hard they will be depends on what you wanna do. If you wanna skate ramps and pools i would tell you to pick soft wheels but otherwise i would pick harder ones.
    Everyone has their own opinions about "what is best complete". It's all about what you wanna do with your board.

All i'm gonna say is that i recommend you to put money to your complete. You're just gonna lose your interest if the complete is bad.