Thread: Filming B-roll

Don't Worry, Be Happy
    Steam
    TheIronz
    XBL
    TheIronz

Default Filming B-roll

So, I've been struggling to film some B-roll stuff to add to my video that I am trying to get together. I have never tried to film any B-roll before and I mainly want to try it as I have been getting inspiration from the videos all of you guys have been putting out.

Any advice would be hugely appreciated, any advice on lense size, locations, techniques as I am completely clueless.

Awful Awfuls!

Filming B-Roll isn’t as difficult as you think. It’s really just a matter of what you want to film.

Typically for B-Roll, sound is not important, but if you’re setting a tone for, say, the beginning of a video or even transitioning to another part of the video, it helps to keep the sound.

The subjects for filming b-roll can range from showing parts of the city to parts of a new park you’re building to something as random as a funny interaction with a pedestrian, and even your skater doing the simplest of things. There’s so many possibilities.

Here’s some advice:

- Use long lens when you’re filming B-Roll. Long lens is between 250-300 mm in the Replay Editor. If you’ve used the Zoom Glitch before, you should be okay.

- Film about 7-8 secs in length, just to give yourself some flexibility while editing. You can cut one end or another (or both) if you intend not to use the entire clip. Besides, that’s the norm for B-Roll length anyway.

- Make sure it’s relevant. If it’s part of a park you’re building, make sure it’s in that park. If there a clip with a trick that you think is really good, get some of the lead-up to that trick. Even the bails to a trick can qualify. Next to music, B-Roll can be used to set the tone of a video.

- Get a good frame of your subject(s). Your subject(s) don’t necessarily have to be in the center of your shot. It can off to the left or right in your shot.